2021 UNT Rilke Prize | Department of English

COVID-19 updates—In an effort to keep everyone healthy, UNT's on-campus operations are closed until further notice. We're serving students remotely. Please stay connected. Stay up to date on UNT’s response to COVID-19 (Coronavirus).

Have you registered for fall classes yet? While COVID-19 has created some uncertainty for us all, UNT is committed to helping the Mean Green family turn dreams into reality. Let's get through this together!

Register for classes on my.unt.edu
Not a UNT student yet? Apply to UNT
Having trouble registering? Get help from an advisor

July 31, 2020

2021 UNT Rilke Prize

The 2021 UNT Rilke Prize submission period is open. Click here for guidelines and entry form.

An annual award of $10,000 recognizing a book that demonstrates exceptional artistry and vision written by a mid-career poet and published in the preceding year. The prize is named after the German poet Rainer Maria Rilke (1875-1926), a writer whose work embodies the qualities of ambition, intellectual and imaginative scope, and technical mastery we seek to recognize.

10th Anniversary

UNT founded the Rilke Prize in 2010. Each January the judges select an outstanding book published in the preceding year by a writer who has published at least two previous collections. We named our first winner in 2011 and will be thrilled to name our tenth at the beginning of 2021.