Creative Writing Faculty | Department of English

Creative Writing Faculty

Jehanne Dubrow, Ph.D.

Professor | Editor, American Literary Review

Office: Auditorium 216

Jehanne Dubrow was born in Italy and grew up in Yugoslavia, Zaire, Poland, Belgium, Austria, and the United States. She is the author of nine poetry collections, including most recently Wild Kingdom (LSU Press, 2021), and a book of creative nonfiction, throughsmoke: an essay in notes. Her second book of nonfiction, Taste: A Book of Small Bites, will be published in 2022. Her poems and essays have appeared in The Southern Review, The New England Review, The Colorado Review, and POETRY.

Corey Marks, Ph.D.

Distinguished Teaching Professor | Director of Creative Writing


Office: Auditorium 214

Corey Marks is the author of The Radio Tree (New Issues Press, 2012), winner of the Green Rose Prize, and Renunciation(University of Illinois Press, 2000), a National Poetry Series selection. His poems have appeared in New England Review, The Paris Review, Poetry Northwest, Ploughshares, Southwest Review, The Threepenny Review, TriQuarterly, and The Virginia Quarterly Review. He has received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Natalie Ornish Prize from the Texas Institute for Letters, and the Bernard F. Conners Prize from The Paris Review.

Gabe Montesanti, M.F.A.

Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: Auditorium 205

Gabe Montesanti is a queer, Midwestern roller derby player. She earned her MFA in Creative Nonfiction from Washington University in St. Louis and is the author of Brace for Impact: A Memoir, forthcoming in spring 2022 from The Dial Press. Her work has appeared in Brevity, The Offing, Creative Nonfiction Magazine, and Sinister Wisdom. In 2020, her piece, "The Worldwide Roller Derby Convention" was recognized as a notable essay in The Best American Essays.

A crash course in the brutal, big-hearted world of roller derby, told through the unforgettable story of one young woman's fight to find her place in the world.

Brace for Impact available May 2022

Pre-order here:

Miroslav Penkov, M.F.A.

Distinguished Teaching Professor

Office: Auditorium 213C

Miroslav Penkov was born in 1982 in Bulgaria. He moved to America in 2001 and eventually completed an MFA in creative writing at the University of Arkansas. He is the author of the story collection, East of the West (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2011), and the novel, Stork Mountain (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2016). His stories have won the BBC International Short Story Award 2012 and The Southern Review's Eudora Welty Prize and have appeared in A Public Space, Granta, One Story, The Best American Short Stories 2008, The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2012, and The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2013. He was a finalist for the 2012 William Saroyan International Prize for Writing, and the Steven Turner Award for First Fiction by the Texas Institute of Letters. His work has been translated in over twenty languages. He is currently a fiction editor of American Literary Review.

John Tait, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: Auditorium 206A

John Tait's short stories have appeared in Narrative, Crazyhorse, Southwest Review, TriQuarterly, Prairie Schooner, The Sun, and elsewhere and have been reprinted in New Stories from the Southwest and the Crazyhorse 50th Anniversary Anthology. He has been the recipient of a Canada Council for the Arts Grant for Emerging Writers and has also received the Everett Southwest Literary Award, the Tobias Wolff Fiction Award, the Rick DeMarinis Award, as well as first prize in the H. E. Francis Literary Competition, the Dogwood Fiction Awards, and the River City Fiction Awards. He is currently fiction co-editor of American Literary Review.

Jill Talbot, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: Auditorium 213B

Jill Talbot is the author of The Way We Weren't: A Memoir and Loaded: Women and Addiction, the co-editor of The Art of Friction: Where (Non) Fictions Come Together, and the editor of Metawritings: Toward a Theory of Nonfiction. Her writing has appeared in journals such as AGNI, Brevity, Colorado Review, Diagram, Gulf Coast, Hotel Amerika, Passages North, The Normal School, and The Paris Review Daily and has been recognized four times in The Best American Essays.


Bruce Bond, Ph.D.

Regents Professor Emeritus

Office: 213 Auditorium

Bruce Bond is the author of twenty-nine books including, most recently, Immanent Distance: Poetry and the Metaphysics of the Near at Hand (U of MI, 2015), For the Lost Cathedral (LSU, 2015), The Other Sky (Etruscan, 2015), Black Anthem (Tampa Review Prize, U of Tampa, 2016), Gold Bee (Helen C. Smith Award, Crab Orchard Award, Southern Illinois University Press, 2016), Sacrum (Four Way Books, 2017), Blackout Starlight: New and Selected Poems 1997-2015 (L.E. Phillabaum Award, LSU, 2015), Rise and Fall of the Lesser Sun Gods (Elixir Book Prize, Elixir, 2018), Frankenstein's Children (Lost Horse, 2018), Dear Reader (Parlor, 2018), Plurality and the Poetics of Self (Palgrave, 2019), Words Written Against the Walls of the City (LSU, 2019), Scar (Etruscan, 2020), The Calling (Parlor, 2021), Behemoth (New Criterion Poetry Prize, Criterion Books, 2021), Patmos (Juniper Prize, U of MA), Choreomania (Madhat, 2022), Liberation of Dissonance (Nicholas Schaffner Award for Literature in Music, Schaffner Press, 2022), Invention of the Wilderness (LSU, 2022), and Therapon (co-authored with Dan Beachy-Quick, Tupelo Press, 2023). His work has appeared in numerous journals and anthologies, including seven editions of Best American Poetry. Other prizes include the Allen Tate Award, the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Award, two TIL Best Book of Poetry Prizes, the Meringoff Prize, the Colladay Award, the Richard Peterson Prize, the Meridian Editors Award in Poetry, the Knightville Poetry Award, the Laurence Goldstein Award, the River Styx International Poetry Award, and fellowships from the NEA and the Texas Institute for the Arts. At the University of North Texas, he won the Eminent Professor Award, the Toulouse Scholar Award, the Creative Impact Award, and the David Kesterson Award for Graduate Teaching. Presently at the university, he is a Regents Emeritus Professor of English.

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 42,000 students.

Apply now