Voertman / Academy of American Poets Prize | Department of English

Voertman / Academy of American Poets Prize

2018 Voertman / Academy of American Poets Prize

The Department of English is pleased to announce this year's $200 Voertman / Academy of American Poets prize for UNT's creative writing graduate students.

The Academy of Poets, as part of their Academy Book Awards, sponsors the University and College Poetry Prize Program to distribute annual prizes at over 200 colleges and universities nationwide. The program is notable for having recognized many of America's premier poetic voices during their college years, including Diane Ackerman, Alice Fulton, Tess Gallagher, Allen Grossman, Kimiko Hahn, Robert Hass, Brad Leithauser, J.D. McClatchy, Heather McHugh, and Gregory Orr, among others.


Open to currently enrolled Ph.D. or M.A. creative writing students in the Department of English, University of North Texas.

Submit up to three poems in a single PDF attachment. Your name should not appear on the manuscript.

All submissions must have 2018 Voertman Prize in the subject line.

Email submissions to Corey Marks at corey.marks@unt.edu.

Submissions must be received by February 2, 2018.

Previously published poems are acceptable.

Download flyer here.

Previous Winners

  • 2017 Andrew Koch for "Inheritance"
  • 2016 Chelsea Wagenaar for "The Spinning Place"
  • 2015 Matt Haines for "The Instructor"
  • 2014 Chelsea Wagenaar for "August"
  • 2013 Justin Bigos for "Three Rivers"


Video: In memory of Paul Voertman https://youtu.be/ZYI66KB4Xuw

    Thinking about UNT?

    It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 37,000 students.

    Apply now