Creative Writing Faculty | Department of English

Creative Writing Faculty

Bruce Bond, Ph.D.

Regents Professor

Office: Auditorium 213

Bruce Bond is the author of fifteen books, most recently Choir of the Wells: A Tetralogy (Etruscan, 2013), The Visible (LSU, 2012), Peal (Etruscan, 2009), and Blind Rain (LSU, 2008). His forthcoming books include For the Lost Cathedral (LSU Press), Black Anthem (Tampa Review Prize, University of Tampa Press), Gold Bee (Crab Orchard Open Competition Prize, University of Southern Illinois Press), Sacrum (Four Way Books), The Other Sky (poems in collaboration with the painter Aron Wiesenfeld, intro by Stephen Dunn; Etruscan Press), and a book of literary criticism: Immanent Distance: Poetry and the Metaphysics of the Near at Hand (University of Michigan). He has won numerous recognitions for his poems, including the Allen Tate Award, the TIL Best Book of Poetry Prize, the Colladay Award, the Richard Peterson Prize, the Knightville Poetry Award, and fellowships from the NEA and the Texas Institute for the Arts. At UNT, he has won the Kesterson Award for Graduate Teaching, the Toulouse Scholars Award, the Creative Impact Award, and the inaugural Eminent Faculty Award. Presently he is poetry co-editor for American Literary Review and co-judge for the annual Rilke Book Award.

Jehanne Dubrow, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: Auditorium 216

Jehanne Dubrow was born Italy and grew up in Yugoslavia, Zaire, Poland, Belgium, Austria, and the United States. She is the author of five poetry collections, including most recently The Arranged Marriage (U of New Mexico P, 2015), Red Army Red (Northwestern UP, 2012), and Stateside (Northwestern UP, 2010). Her sixth book, Dots & Dashes, won the Crab Orchard Series in Poetry Open Competition Award and will be published by Southern Illinois University Press in 2017. She is the co-editor of the anthologies The Book of Scented Things: 100 Contemporary Poems about Perfume (Literary House Press, 2014) and Still Life with Poem: Contemporary Natures Mortes in Verse (Literary House Press, 2016). Her poems, essays, and book reviews has appeared in Virginia Quarterly Review, The New England Review, Pleiades, Blackbird, and The New York Times Magazine.

Bonnie Friedman, M.F.A.

Associate Professor

Office: Auditorium 206B

Bonnie Friedman writes both creative nonfiction--focusing on the personal essay and memoir--and fiction. She is the author of the Village Voice bestseller Writing Past Dark: Envy, Fear, Distraction, and Other Dilemmas in the Writer's Life (HarperCollins), which has been anthologized in six different writing textbooks. She is also the author of the memoir The Thief of Happiness (Beacon). Her personal essays have appeared in The New York Times, Ploughshares, The Michigan Quarterly Review, and magazines including O. The Oprah Magazine, Redbook, The Ladies Home Journal and Self. Her writing has been selected for inclusion in The Best American Movie Writing, The Best Writing on Writing, The Best Spiritual Writing, and The Best of O., The Oprah Magazine.

Corey Marks, Ph.D.

Distinguished Teaching Professor | Director of Creative Writing


Office: Auditorium 214

Corey Marks is the author of The Radio Tree (New Issues Press, 2012), winner of the Green Rose Prize, and Renunciation(University of Illinois Press, 2000), a National Poetry Series selection. His poems have appeared in New England Review, The Paris Review, Poetry Northwest, Ploughshares, Southwest Review, The Threepenny Review, TriQuarterly, and The Virginia Quarterly Review. He has received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Natalie Ornish Prize from the Texas Institute for Letters, and the Bernard F. Conners Prize from The Paris Review.

Ian McGuire, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Office: Auditorium 205

Ian McGuire grew up near Hull, England, and studied at the University of Manchester and the University of Virginia. He writes criticism and fiction, and his stories have been published in Chicago Review, The Paris Review, and elsewhere. His most recent novel The North Water was longlisted for the 2016 Man Booker Prize and was named as one of the 10 Best Books of 2016 by The New York Times.

Miroslav Penkov, M.F.A.

Associate Professor | Editor, American Literary Review

Office: Auditorium 213C

Miroslav Penkov was born in 1982 in Bulgaria. He moved to America in 2001 and eventually completed an MFA in creative writing at the University of Arkansas. His stories have won the BBC International Short Story Award 2012 and The Southern Review's Eudora Welty Prize and have appeared in A Public Space, Granta, One Story, The Best American Short Stories 2008, The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2012, and The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2013. Published in over a dozen countries, his debut collection East of the West (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2011) was a finalist for the 2012 William Saroyan International Prize for Writing and the Steven Turner Award for First Fiction by the Texas Institute of Letters. Farrar, Straus and Giroux will publish his first novel, Stork Mountain, in March 2016. In 2014-15 he was the literature protégé in the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative, working with mentor Michael Ondaatje. He is currently editor-in-chief of American Literary Review.

Barbara Rodman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor | Associate Department Chair

Office: Auditorium 112

Dr. Barbara Rodman specializes in contemporary short fiction; she has published in a variety of literary journals including Denver Quarterly, Colorado Review, Dickinson Review and others. She is past editor of the Katherine Anne Porter series in short fiction and is currently co-editor of fiction for the American Literary Review. She teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in fiction as well as Form and Theory of Prose.

John Tait, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: Auditorium 206A

John Tait specializes in creative writing (fiction writing) as well as post World War II American fiction and film. His short stories have appeared in Crazyhorse, TriQuarterly, Prairie Schooner, The Sun, Michigan Quarterly and elsewhere and have been reprinted in New Stories from the Southwest and cited in Best American Short Stories. He has been the recipient of Canada Council for the Arts Grant for Emerging Writers and has also received the Tobias Wolff Fiction Award as well as first prize in the H. E. Francis Literary Competition, the Dogwood Fiction Awards and the River City Fiction Awards. He is currently at work on a novel, Poplar Crescent.

Jill Talbot, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: Auditorium 213B

Dr. Jill Talbot specializes in the personal essay, memoir, and genre-defying work. She is the author of The Way We Weren't: A Memoir (Soft Skull, 2015) and Loaded: Women and Addiction (Seal, 2007). She co-edited The Art of Friction: Where (Non)Fictions Come Together (U of Texas, 2008) and edited Metawritings: Toward a Theory of Nonfiction (Iowa, 2012). Her essays have appeared in such journals as Brevity, DIAGRAM, Ecotone, The Normal School, Passages North, The Paris Review Daily, The Pinch, Seneca Review, and listed in the Notable Essays section of Best American Essays 2014. She is also the nonfiction editor for BOAAT Press.

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 37,000 students.

Apply now